Inspired by Bohemia: A Musical Journey with Aeolus Quartet


January 27, 2019 , 5:00 pm

[4th Floor]

Aeolus Quartet curates and performs a program which features, at its core, Bohemian composer Heinrich Biber's Passacaglia, the last of his renowned 17th-century Rosary sonatas. The enigmatic journey through the joyful, sorrowful, and glorious mysteries in the Biber sonata is reflected in Oswaldo Golijov’s Tenebrae and Beethoven’s monumental Op. 131, and Passacaglia provides the inspiration for Alexandra Bryant's world premiere, Mysterium. The multi-award winning Aeolus, founded in 2008, is the quartet-in-residence at All Souls Church in New York City, performing as part of Musica Viva NY under the artistic direction of Alejandro Hernandez-Valdez.

Aeolus Quartet:

Nicholas Tavani & Rachel Shapiro, violins

Caitlin Lynch, viola

Alan Richardson, cello


Osvaldo Golijov: Tenebrae

Heinrich Biber: Passacaglia

Alexandra Bryant: Mysterium (inspired by Biber’s Passacaglia) (world premiere)


Ludwig van Beethoven: String Quartet No. 14 in C-sharp minor, Op. 131

For more information and to purchase your ticket, please visit

Organized by: DAHA, Musica Viva NY, BBLA